OMAHA, Neb. -- -

Virginia and Vanderbilt start a best-of-three series Monday night for the NCAA's baseball championship.

WDBJ7's Travis Wells is in Omaha and will have updates for all of our newscasts. All three games (Monday-Wednesday) are at 8 p.m. and will be televised on ESPN.

Whoever wins this series will win its first national championship in baseball. Here are seven other things you need to know about the UVA-Vanderbilt series:

1. Only one ACC team has won the national title

The 1955 Wake Forest team is the only ACC member that has won a baseball national title. That was in 1955. The NCAA has crowned a baseball champ since 1947. Miami has won four national titles, but the Hurricanes were not members of the ACC at the time.

2. SEC teams have reached seven straight finals

A team from the SEC has reached the national title series for seven straight seasons. LSU won in 2009, and South Carolina won in 2010 and 2011. North Carolina was the last ACC team to reach the finals (2007). Vanderbilt is an SEC member.

3. Lewicki lights out

Wahoos senior pitcher Artie Lewicki has not allowed an earned run in 17 1/3 innings pitched during the NCAA Tournament.

4. Great pitching

The Cavaliers lead NCAA Division 1 with a 2.21 ERA. The Commodores are 20th (2.79 ERA). Virginia sophomore lefty Nathan Kirby (9-2, 1.70 ERA) is expected to start Monday against Vanderbilt junior right-hander Tyler Beede (8-7, 3.80 ERA). Brandon Waddell (9-3, 2.57 ERA) is expected to start Game 2 for Virginia.

4. MLB Draft

Cavaliers: Eight UVA players were drafted in the 2014 MLB Draft. They are:

- Nick Howard (19th overall, Cincinnati)
- Derek Fisher (37th overall, Houston)
- Mike Papi (38th overall, Cleveland)
- Brandown Downes (7th round, Kansas City)
- Branden Cogswell (7th round, Oakland)
- Artie Lewicki (8th round, Detroit)
- Whit Mayberry (21st round, Detroit)
- Nate Irving (34th round, Arizona).

Commodores: Monday night's starting pitcher for Vanderbilt, Tyler Beede, has been drafted twice in the first round. This year he went 14th overall to the Giants. Vanderbilt's other draft pick is junior shortstop Vince Conde (ninth round, Yankees).

5. UVA-Vandy series

UVA and Vanderbilt have only played twice. Vanderbilt won the first game, 5-4, in 1892 in Charlottesville. The other game was in 2004, when Vanderbilt notched a 7-3, win over the Wahoos in the NCAA Charlottesville Regional. It was the first postseason appearance for UVA coach Brian O'Connor and Vanderbilt coach Tim Corbin at their respective schools.

6. Former pros

The following MLB players also played at Vanderbilt:
- Pedro Alvarez, Pittsburgh
- Ryan Flaherty, Baltimore
- Sonny Gray, Oakland
- Mike Minor, Atlanta
- David Price, Tampa Bay

The following MLB players also played at UVA:
- Sean Doolittle, Oakland
- Brandyon Guyer, Tampa Bay
- Javier Lozpez, San Francisco
- Mark Reynolds, Milwaukee
- Ryan Zimmerman, Washington

7. Snapping streaks

During the regular-season, UVA did not lose back-to-back games. Vanderbilt has not lost three straight games since early in the 2012 season.