New Executive Director named for Virginia Museum of Transportation

By  | 

ROANOKE, Va. (WDBJ7) - The Virginia Museum of Transportation has named a new Executive Director to take over after Bev Fitzpatrick's retirement.

Virginia Museum of Transportation

Lisa Sphar, of Roanoke, will officially take over the position starting January 1.

“I am thrilled for the opportunity to continue the good work and positive momentum the museum has experienced in recent years. If you consider the history of Roanoke, the growth of the Commonwealth, and certainly the nation, advances in and access to transportation are major influencers shaping our society. I look forward to celebrating and honoring that heritage,” said incoming Virginia Museum of Transportation Executive Director, Lisa Sphar.

“I have a passion for partnering with the community in support of deserving non-profit organizations and I look forward to focusing my efforts on securing the future of the Museum.”

The future of the museum includes: a preservation and Education Facility and a three-track, climate controlled facility that will preserve the 611.

“We have the utmost confidence in Lisa’s ability to engage the community and build upon the strong bonds that have been formed with our individual and corporate supporters,” said Board President William L. Harris, III.

There will be an event to honor Fitzpatrick’s legacy on January 20 from 5:30 p.m. to 11 p.m.