Rail Yard Dawgs announce 2019-2020 protected list

By  | 

ROANOKE, Va. -- The Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs and head coach Dan Bremner announced on Saturday the team’s protected list for the 2019-2020 season.

Per SPHL rules, each team is allowed to protect 13 players who finished the previous season on their roster. This retains the rights of these players for the Rail Yard Dawgs – they are not able to sign with any other SPHL teams. Players who were left off the protected list are free agents and may sign with any of the nine other SPHL franchises.

Roanoke’s list is highlighted by alternate captain Colin Murray, who led the team with 45 points and matched a franchise record with 22 goals. Murray is joined by Jeff Jones, who also matched the single-season record with 22 goals, defenseman Travis Armstrong who had four goals, 17 assists and 75 penalty minutes in 40 games this season, and forward Mac Jansen, who finished the regular season with 13 goals and 17 assists. Despite Roanoke being eliminated in the semifinals, Jansen led the SPHL in postseason goals. He had five goals and two assists during the Dawgs’ five playoff games.

The Rail Yard Dawgs full protected list is below:

Colin Murray
Jeff Jones
Colton Wolter
Adrian Carbonara
Mac Jansen
Maxime Guyon
Jesse Schwartz
Josh Nenadal

Sean Federow
Ben Bauer
Cam Bakker
Alex Adams
Travis Armstrong